Murder In Shimla

Murder In Shimla

379 ₹399 (5% off)
+ ₹50 shipping fee* (Free shipping for orders above ₹500 within India)
CommonFolks
Author: Bulbul Sharma
Publisher: Speaking Tiger
No. of pages: 304
Add to cart

Other Specifications

Language: English
ISBN: 9788194490807
Published on: 2020
Book Format: Paperback
Category: Novel
Subject: Crime / Thriller

Description


Murder in Shimla When, at the height of World War II, an uninvited guest arrives at a dinner party at Chartsville Hall, the Assistant Deputy Commissioner’s house in Shimla, the lives of its inmates are thrown into turmoil. Especially when the guest is blonde and beautiful— and found dead in her bed the next morning.

Who is Rosa Rodriguez and why did she come to Chartsville Hall? In the answer to that question lies the key to solving her murder. Inspector Ram Sen sets about diligently finding it, ably assisted by the redoubtable Mrs Tweedy, who knows everything that goes on in Shimla, though she hardly ever leaves her little cottage.
The line-up of suspects includes William Parker-Smith, the seemingly bland and boring Assistant Deputy Commissioner, his wife Helen, a very pukka English memsahib, and his acid-tongued sister, Emily; the gin-swilling Rani Sahiba of Manon and her dashing ADC, Johnny Singh; and a disgruntled domestic staff, led by Matilda, Helen’s faithful ayah. Which of them had a hand in Rosa’s murder—and why? As Ram Sen and Mrs Tweedy—with help from William’s gentle niece, Mary, and Boris, the taciturn Russian—unravel the mystery, they are led into the murky world of the Lower Mall, of drug dealers and opium addicts, spies and assassins.
With her unerring ear for dialogue and skilfully drawn characters, Bulbul Sharma recreates the world of the British Raj—complete with English memsahibs who stroll down the Mall with their parasols, mansions with manicured lawns, and Brigadiers and their ladies who can crack a crime over bridge at the club. In the tradition of Agatha Christie and Alexander McCall Smith, Murder in Shimla doesn’t let up on the mystery and suspense until the last page.

When, at the height of World War II, an uninvited guest arrives at a dinner party at Chartsville Hall, the Assistant Deputy Commissioner’s house in Shimla, the lives of its inmates are thrown into turmoil.

Ratings & Comments

Add Rating & Comment


 

Be the first to rate this book.

Zipeit.com
Free Shipping *
For orders above ₹500
Easy Payments
Multiple payment options
Customer Support
Mon-Sat (10am-7pm)
CommonFolks © 2017
Designed & Developed by Dynamisigns

Login to CommonFolks

Welcome back!


 

Don't have an account? Register

Forgot your password? Reset Password

Register with us

To manage & track your orders.

By clicking the "Register" button, you agree to the Terms & Conditions.


 

Already have an account? Login

Forgot your password? Reset Password

Reset your password

Get a new one.


 

Already have an account? Login

Don't have an account? Register

Bank Account Details

Loading...
Whatsapp